# Legislature

Ronald E. Dougherty County Office Building 56 Main Street Owego, NY 13827

www.TiogaCountyNY.com



## **Tioga County Legislative Worksession Minutes** December 17, 2019 – 10:00 a.m.

#### **Legislators Present:**

Legislator Balliet Legislator Hollenbeck Legislator Roberts Chair/Legislator Sauerbrey Legislator Standinger Legislator Weston

#### **Legislators Absent:**

Legislator Sullivan Leaislator Monell Legislator Mullen

#### Guests:

Matt Freeze, Reporter, Morning Times

## Staff Present:

County Attorney Peter DeWind Legislative Clerk Cathy Haskell Deputy Legislative Clerk Cheryl Heffernan Secretary to County Attorney Diane Stephens (departed at 10:10 a.m.) Sheriff Gary Howard (departed at 10:04 a.m.) Public Health Director Lisa McCafferty (arrived at 10:10 a.m.) Personnel Officer Bethany O'Rourke (arrived at 10:11 a.m.)

## Call Meeting to Order –

Chair Sauerbrey called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

## **Discovery Reform Presentation-**

Sheriff Howard reported a position for Discovery Compliance Officer is needed for our office. This person will be working with the District Attorney's Office. The District Attorney has requested that one person in the Sheriff's Office be responsible for Discovery that takes effect January 1, 2020. They have chosen a person for the Discovery Officer Position. Sheriff Howard has presented this to his Public Safety Committee and Legislator Hollenbeck confirmed. All evidence, reports, and materials have to be sent to the District Attorney's Office and must be given to the

District Legislators D1 Cliff Balliet D2 Martha Sauerbrey D3 Michael Roberts D4 Tracy Monell D4 Loretta Sullivan **D5** Dennis M. Mullen **D6** Dale N. Weston **D7** Ed Hollenbeck **D7** William Standinger

## Legislature

Ronald E. Dougherty County Office Building 56 Main Street Owego, NY 13827

Martha Sauerbrey Chair 📞 607 687 8240 🖶 607 687 8232 🔘 www.TiogaCountyNY.com



Defense Attorneys within 15 calendar days of the arrest. Sheriff Howard will present a resolution at the next Public Safety Committee Meeting.

Sheriff Howard reported CAP Court will be operational as of January 15, 2020.

#### FOIL Appeal -

The County Attorney presented a FOIL request appeal for Legislature review and consideration.

County Attorney DeWind reviewed the video footage and recommends granting the appeal and providing the video. All Legislators were in favor of this recommendation.

Mr. DeWind will prepare a letter for Chair Sauerbrey's signature informing the individual the appeal decision is granted and the requested information was granted.

#### Organizational Meeting Agenda Review-

Legislative Clerk Cathy Haskell reviewed the Organizational Meeting agenda for January 2, 2020 at 9:00 a.m. in the Hubbard Auditorium.

- There are three elected positions being sworn in; County Sheriff Howard, County Coroner Kline, and County Coroner Williams.
- County Clerk Andrea Klett will also be starting a new term of office, but will be sworn-in prior to this meeting by Judge Keene.
- Nominate and swear in Chair for a one-year term.
- Nominate and swear in two Deputy Chairs for a one-year term.
- Nominate Republican Majority Leader for a one-year term.
- Public Information Officer Doug Barton submitted his resignation via email. Chair Sauerbrey is willing to serve as Public Information Officer for the oneyear term, unless another Legislator is interested. Legislator Weston inquired if this was a paid position or volunteer position. This is a volunteer position.
- All eight standard resolutions were reviewed with no changes noted.
- Legislature photo will be taken by IT Staff.

## Approval of Worksession Minutes – December 5, 2019 -

Legislator Hollenbeck motioned to approve the December 5, 2019 Legislative Worksession minutes as written, seconded by Legislator Standinger with Legislators Balliet, Hollenbeck, Roberts, Sauerbrey, Standinger and Weston voting yes with Legislators Monell, Mullen and Sullivan being absent. Motion carried.

District Legislators D1 Cliff Balliet D2 Martha Sauerbrey D3 Michael Roberts D4 Tracy Monell D4 Loretta Sullivan **D5** Dennis M. Mullen **D6** Dale N. Weston **D7** Ed Hollenbeck **D7** William Standinger

#### TIOGA COUNTY, NEW YORK

## Legislature

Ronald E. Dougherty County Office Building 56 Main Street Owego, NY 13827



### **Action Items -**

There are currently no action items.

### Other -

None

### **Executive Session -**

With no confidential topics of discussion, an Executive Session was not necessary.

Meeting adjourned at 10:14 a.m.

Next worksession scheduled for Thursday January 9, 2020, at 1:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cheryl Heffernan

Deputy Legislative Clerk

District Legislators D1 Cliff Balliet D2 Martha Sauerbrey D3 Michael Roberts D4 Tracy Monell D4 Loretta Sullivan D5 Dennis M. Mullen D6 Dale N. Weston D7 Ed Hollenbeck D7 William Standinger