# TIOGA COUNTY, NEW YORK

# **Board of Elections**

1062 State Route 38 P.O. Box 306 Owego, NY 13827

Commissioners Vera Lin Layman \ James C. E. Wahls
Deputy Commissioners Kelly A. Johnson \ Vacant

**607 687 8261** 

www.TiogaCountyNY.gov✓ VoteTioga@tiogacountyny.gov



# ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES COMMITTEE - BOARD OF ELECTIONS Tuesday, June 6, 2023 10:30 a.m. MINUTES

## **ATTENDEES**

Legislators Dennis Mullen, W. Jake Brown, Ronald Ciotoli, and William Standinger. Commissioners Lin Layman and James Wahls.

Guests: Legislative Chair Martha Sauerbrey, Legislative Clerk Cathy Haskell.

#### APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Motion by Legislator Ciotoli, second by Legislator Brown. All in favor. Carried.

#### **FINANCIAL**

YTD Budget Report was presented. Funding for the NYS TIER Grant and Absentee Pre-Paid Postage Grant has been extended and reappropriated (see resolutions).

## **OLD BUSINESS**

See May Minutes. School Elections were successfully completed, and invoices will be sent this week to the school districts who utilized our services.

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

Assignment letters for inspectors working Primary Election have been sent.

The Online Voter Registration (OVR) application through NYSBOE is active as of May 31st.

Logic and accuracy testing of voting equipment is in progress. Testing of Early Voting and Election Day equipment was completed last week, and testing of central count equipment is scheduled for tomorrow.

Primary Election Day is Tuesday June 27<sup>th</sup> from 6am to 9pm. The only contested primary is in the Town of Spencer for the Republican Party, so all Tioga County poll sites outside the town of Spencer will be closed. Early Voting for the Spencer primary will be Saturday June 17<sup>th</sup> through Sunday June 25<sup>th</sup> at the Board of Elections.

The Board of Elections will be joining the Udemy Business online training application to expand the skills and qualifications of election staff.

#### PERSONNEL

Commissioner Wahls has selected a candidate to appoint as Democratic Deputy Commissioner (see resolution).

# **RESOLUTIONS / PROCLAMATIONS**

The following resolutions were presented. Committee members were all in favor of advancing the resolutions.

- F04 Appointment of Democratic Deputy Commissioner of Elections
- F44 Budget Amendment for Appropriation and Receipt of Additional Funds from Absentee Ballot Pre-Paid Postage Grant Program
- F45 Budget Amendment for Appropriation and Receipt of Additional Funds from Technology Innovation and Election Resource Grant Program

Executive session to discuss personnel commenced at 11:25 am following motion by Legislator Standinger. Executive session adjourned at 11:51 am. Meeting adjourned.